Awards, Bursaries + Funding


Every year, BC Wheelchair Sports hosts an annual recognition night to celebrate the many members who win awards every year. This year's recognition event took place on Feb. 1st. Held in conjunction with the BC SCI Community Services Network conference and the BCWSA/BCWBS Regional Planning Workshop, the awards night brought together key members of the wheelchair sports community for an evening of celebration.

The ceremony was held at the BC Wheelchair Sports Association/ BC Wheelchair Basketball Society office and served wine and desserts.

Among those recognized were:

Joe Higgins – CWSA Robert W. Jackson Award, BCWBS Coach of the Year
Laurel Crosby – CWSA Service Award – 35 years
Sarah Hunter – CWSA Female Athlete of the Year
Gail Hamamoto - CWSA Service Award (20 years)
Dean Mackinnon – CWSA Service Award (25 years), Basketball BC Hall of Fame Inductee
Sean Bevan – CWSA Service Award (5 years)
Steve Campbell – CWSA Service Award (20 years)
Debbie Carnaby – CWSA Service Award (25 years)
Byron Green – CWSA Stan Stronge Award
Gerry Kripps – CWSA Volunteer of the Year
Trevor Hirschfield – Sport BC Athlete of the Year
Peter Lawless – Sport BC Coach of the Year
Tim Frick – CPC Hall of Fame Inductee, 2013 Community NCCP Coach Developer Award
Jennifer Krempien – CPC Hall of Fame Inductee
2012 Men’s Wheelchair Basketball Team (Bo Hedges, Richard Peter) – inducted into Wheelchair Basketball Hall of Fame
Michelle Stilwell – CPC Best Female Athlete Award, CAAWS 2013 Women of Influence List
Duncan Campbell – IPC Paralympic Order
Justin Johnson – WCBC Junior Athlete of the Year
Janet McLachlan – WCBC Female Athlete of the Year
Jim Campbell – BCWBS Official of the Year
PISE – BCWBS Outstanding Community Service
Mitch Kosterman – BCWBS Volunteer of the Year
Erin Higgins – BCWBS Junior Athlete of the Year
Wendy Jansen – BCWBS Female Athlete of the Year
Richard Peter – BCWBS Male Athlete of the Year

We also honoured the decades of contributions of Pat Harris, who has stepped down as BCWSA President. Chris Samis, who served for over 20 years as the BCWSA Treasurer, was also recognized.

View photos of the event.

Funding + Bursaries

We will post funding opportunities when they become available. For other funding and grant opportunities, please visit the ViaSport website.