Viasport Names Two Grants after BCWSA Alumni

Viasport graciously named two of their Legacy Grants after longtime BC Wheelchair Sports contributors Kathy Newman and Tim Frick. 

The Coaches BC Legacy Fund and the Province of British Columbia have provided the funding for the grants, which will serve sports clubs, organizations, and coach developers. The grants will help organizations further their coach education, professional development, and training/certifications. 

Kathy Newman served as the Executive Director of BC Wheelchair Sports for over 25 years. She oversaw the first ever Canada Cup Wheelchair Rugby Tournament, the 2010 World Wheelchair Rugby Championships, and was instrumental in getting the Bridging the Gap program off the ground.

Tim Frick’s contributions to sport are countless. He was the head coach of the Canadian women’s wheelchair basketball team for 19 years, leading the club to 3 Paralympic gold medals and 4 World Championship gold medals. He’s the longest standing member of the Board of Directors for Coaches BC, and the recipient of the Geoff Gowan Lifetime Achievement Award (2009). He’s a member of the Canadian Paralympic Hall of Fame, the Basketball BC Hall of Fame, and a seven time recipient of the Coaching Association of Canada’s Coaching Excellence Award. 

Congratulations to both of them!