BC Wins Gold at the 2003 National Wheelchair Rugby Championships

May 13, 2003 - National Championship Cup named after BC's Duncan Campbell

The BC Bandits Quad Rugby Team won the 2003 National Championships (Winnipeg, MB) in a 26-25 tough win against Ontario. BC scored with seven seconds remaining in regulation time to take the Championship final.

The BC Bandits team included Garett Hickling (Kelowna), Ian Chan (Richmond), Trevor Hirshfield (Parksville), Mike Jacobsen (Port Coquitlam), Travis Murao, and Coach Adam Frost (Vancouver).

"It was the most closely contested national championship game in recent memory," said Cathy Cadieux, Executive Director of Canadian Wheelchair Sports Association (CWSA). "It was the best national championship tournament with close fought battles in all games."

BC was presented with the newly unveiled 'Campbell Cup' named after the sports' founder and BC Team member, Duncan Campbell. This year, the Nationals were held in Winnipeg, MB the birth city of the sport, which was fitting since 2003 marks the 25th anniversary of the creation of wheelchair rugby. A ceremony took place to commemorate the naming of the Cup. It is a beautiful silver cup that will be awarded annually to the national champion.

Three BC players were named to the all star team: Hickling, Chan and Luangkhamdeng.

You can download a pdf of the full game schedule and results (74k) and a list of the top scorers (68k) of the tournament.

For more information contact

Lia Macfarlane