Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games (formerly the Inter-Empire Games (1911), British Empire Games (1930-1950), British Empire and Commonwealth Games (1954-1966), and British Commonwealth Games (1970-1974) is an international, multi-sport event involving athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations. The event was first held in 1930 and has taken place every four years ever since (except 1942 and 1946 which were cancelled due to World War II). The games are described as the third largest multi-sport event in the world, after the Olympic Games and the Asian Games.

Para-sports have been included in the Commonwealth Games since 2002. While the sports hosted are at the discretion of the host committee, common para-sports included are para-athletics (track and field), swimming and table-tennis. Learn more about the Commonwealth Games.

The next Commonwealth Games will be held in Glasgow in 2014.